Travel Ban Enforcement Begins Tonight 8pm Eastern Time

The Trump administration will begin implementing the Executive Order travel ban on travelers from six countries beginning Thursday, June 29, 2017 at 8:00pm Eastern Time. The six countries whose citizens are affected are Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen.

The U.S. Department of State has issued guidance on the implementation of the ban. Travelers must have a close U.S. family relationship or formal ties to a U.S. entity to be admitted to the United States. A "close family relationship" is defined as being a parent, spouse, child, adult son or daughter, son-in-law, daughter-in-law or sibling, including step siblings and other step family relations. The guidance specifically notes that "close family relationship" does NOT include: "grandparents, grandchildren, aunts, uncles, nieces, nephews, cousins, brothers-laws and sisters-in-law, fiancés, and any other ‘extended’ family members.”

If you have a question for an Albany, New York immigration lawyer about the travel ban or another immigration matter, please contact our office at 518-282-4323.

How Can We Help?

Fill out our online form